Ironworkers Local 397 Union

Welcome to Iron Workers Local 489

The Greater Scranton Area was built on the iron and steel industries and the Ironworkers Local Union No. 489 continues that tradition. First chartered in 1900, Local 489 encompasses 12 counties throughout eastern Pennsylvania – Lackawanna, Luzerne, Monroe, Wayne, Pike, Tioga, Bradford, Columbia, Susquehanna, Wyoming, Carbon and Sullivan Counties.